5 Things in November

Oh, friends. I’m struggling this month. In a cruel turn of fate I finished my tenure teaching 8th grade science and traded in my happy little middle school for the big, bad world of high school. I’ll be spending the next few months relearning names, classroom routines, and personalities as I take on five 9th grade Earth & Space Science classes. I’ve known this change was coming for months, but it was still a shock to the system.

Anyway, enough griping. November should be a time of thanksgiving and, well, Thanksgiving. Here are 5 things to consider:

Remember this | May my heart be brave, my mind fierce, and my spirit free.

Mediate on this| Then shall your light break forth like the dawn, and your healing shall spring up speedily; your righteousness shall go before you; the glory of the Lord shall be your rear guard. Then you shall call, and the Lord will answer; you shall cray, and he will say ‘Here I am’… [Isaiah 58:8-9a]

Try this | Red-Orange Nails. Slightly less cheery than the vibrant orange of summer and not quite the striking red of winter, try this warm and seasonal nail color to rev up your fall routine.

*photo from Very Verve*

Do this | Write a thank you note to someone who has done something kind for you. It’s incredible how much joy you feel when you get over yourself for a minute and take time to let the important people in your life know that they have made an impact.

Accomplish this | Plan out your Thanksgiving dinner. It sounds obsessive (because it is) but honestly, it’s the best thing EVER when it comes to breaking a huge family dinner down into manageable pieces. Start with the time you’d like dinner to be served and work backward to when the turkey needs to come out of the freezer. You can also figure out which items need to be done day of, and which can be made ahead. I didn’t cook last year, but here’s the one I did in 2013:

Glorious.

Happy November!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

2 thoughts on “5 Things in November

  1. does reusing my plan from last year count? (maybe I should find it on my computer…)
    glad to see your post… I’ve been willing to “hear from you” for a few days now, lol.

    and you should totally see my website… I finished a big project recently (kind of. Got it to “ready for approval” status) and i’m SO EXCITED. lol. Go click on “We Call Them Home” and giggle with glee for me 😛

    Like

Chime in!

