5 Things in October

I blinked and suddenly…fall. With 179 students, my schoolwork, church responsibilities, and silly things like sleeping and eating, I have been very much treading water this month. Which explains, for example, why this post is coming out on the 17th day of the month, instead of the 2nd.

Whatever, don’t judge me.

Remember this | “I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life — And I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” – Georgia O’Keeffe

Mediate on this| …so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith — that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled with the fullness of God.l  [Ephesians 3:17-19]

Eat this | Butternut Squash. Nothing says fall to me like roasting all the vegetables. Butternut squash ranks as one of my favorite cool weather staples. It’s exceedingly versatile and ridiculously easy to prepare. For a simple prep, peel and chop into 3/4 inch chunks, toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper, and roast at 400°F for about 30 minutes, tossing once about halfway through. Yum!

Do this | Grown Up Study Group. I have an absurdly long list of things to do. I have assignments to grade, lesson plans to formulate, and papers to write. Yet, when I try to do the things by myself, I hit a wall of non-productivity. There are so many things to distract me when I’m alone in my pjs trying to work instead of watching tv or taking a nap. My solution has been to get together with a couple girlfriends in similar situations and take over a table at a coffee shop. Each girl in the group brings the things she needs to get done and our work is independent, but adjacent. No joke,  I’ve never been so efficient.

Accomplish this | Clean off your desk. At home or work, a cluttered desk can cause excess stress and loss of productivity. *But but but! I work better in…* I’ma stop you right there, you do not work better in a cluttered space. Clean it up. While you’re at it, check out Greatist‘s ideas for adding a little Feng Shui to you work space.

Happy October! Or what’s left of it…

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

Chime in!

