The Dog Days | 5 Things In August

Oh, August.

Unbearably hot days, scorching sun, and the end of summer vacation, August is a strange and dichotomous month in which the excitement of fall begins but the unrelenting heat of summer remains. Like students across the country, I’m headed back to school at the end of this month. However, for the first time, I’ll be on the other side of the podium. That’s right, after many years of studenthood, I’ll be joining that sacred fraternity of educators as I complete my student teaching in middle and high school classrooms and venture into the world of college professorship (more on that later).

I’ll be honest, I’m terrified. I’m having a hard time these days, with the one year anniversary of the worst day of my life screaming toward me like an oncoming freight train. Coupled with the stress of transition, I’m barely holding it together. Anyway, a list!

Remember this | Be willing to go alone sometimes. You don’t need permission to grow. Not everyone who started with you will finish with you. And that’s okay.

Memorize this| For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. He only is my rock and my salvation, my fortress, I shall not be shaken. On him rests my salvation and my glory, my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Trust in the him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. [Psalm 62:5-8]

Eat this | Shrimp Arrabbiata – From the Italian for “angry” you could replace the shrimp with the protein of your choice. The slightly (or very, depending on your preference) spicy sauce is light but packs a ton of flavor. The recipe only take a few minutes to put together and it’s super delicious. For even more flavor, try fire roasted tomatoes. Make the recipe your own!

Do this | Take time for your health. Maybe you want to run a half marathon — more power to you. If you’re like me and you just want to get back into shape after a summer of less than stellar health choices, consider joining a gym or taking an exercise class. I joined Planet Fitness. For $10/month, I can work out any time I want in an intimidation-free setting.

Watch this | Tim Hawkins is a Christian comedian and does a bit about the various types of hand raising that church members do during worship. As a worship team member, I find it particularly funny, but if you’ve ever been to a hand-raising church, you’ll probably get a kick out of it.

Happy August!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

Chime in!

