Foodie Fridays | 1 Ingredient Ice Cream

Oh, friends, what a week this has been. Just wait until I start filling you in on my Kids College experience. In the meantime, I’d like to talk about ice cream.

Yum.

This is another one of those “recipes” that’s kind of a misnomer. I mean, how much of a recipe can it be if it has one ingredient? It is more like a process than an actual recipe. Whatever. Ice cream!

Ice Cream

I’ve been waiting for a while to try out this recipe, mainly until I saved up enough bananas, and enough courage. I’d seen a variety of methods on the internet and decided to just try it and see what happened.

You guys. It was amazing. So stinking good.

The method couldn’t be easier. Save your super ripe bananas in a gallon sized zip top bag and throw them in the freezer until they are solid.  Then, pop in a food processor and whirl it around until they are creamy and smooth. That’s it. Seriously.

Collage

A couple tips:

  • Super ripe is key here for texture and taste
  • Cut the bananas into smallish pieces to make processing easier. You can cut them before or after the big chill!

I used about 3 whole bananas and it yielded around 2 cups of delicious goodness, which I promptly ate in its entirety. I don’t recommend that practice, it’s a lot of potassium to consume in one sitting. The finished product is vegan as heck and dairy and gluten free. It’s all natural and could even be organic depending on your banana preferences. With no artificial colors or flavors its and absolutely guilt free summer time treat!

The texture is rich and creamy; it more closely resembles soft serve than hand dipped ice cream. If you have the willpower, I suppose you could throw it into the freezer to firm up, but I didn’t have it in me.

Happy Friday!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

2 thoughts on “Foodie Fridays | 1 Ingredient Ice Cream

Chime in!

