In Fear of Mustard | The best Balsamic Vinaigrette, ever

Last week, I finally got around to making this delicious Avocado Chicken Caprese Salad I found over at Joyful Healthy Eats. It was beautiful!

20150703_172150I took a few liberties; I cooked my chicken in a cast iron skillet instead of firing up my grill and I completely forgot to add the fresh basil. The biggest difference between my salad and the original was the dressing. I love a balsamic vinaigrette as much as the next girl, but the emulsifiying agent is usually mustard, and I’m allergic. Oh, sure, I could have used just oil and vinegar mixed together, but I really wanted that smooth, almost creamy, sweetly tangy dressing to balance the rich cheese and avocados and the bright tomatoes. A little internet research and I developed my own simple recipe. It’s so easy that I hesitate to even classify it as a recipe, but whatever.

EveryGirl’s Mustard-Free Balsamic Vinaigrette

1 clove of garlic
1 Tbsp of honey (or to taste)
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
3/4 cup olive oil (I used extra virgin, but whatevs)
salt and pepper

Into a jar with a tight fitting lid, grate the garlic with a microplane. Add the other ingredients. Secure the lid and shake vigorously for about 2 minutes. Serve immediately or refrigerate until use.

20150703_172118The honey emulsifies the vinegar and oil and the result is divine. Be sure to shake it even after it seems combined, to really allow the honey to pull the dressing together. While it may separate a tiny bit after sitting, a quick shake of the jar and you’re good to go. Feel free to adjust the flavoring to you liking!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

One thought on “In Fear of Mustard | The best Balsamic Vinaigrette, ever

  1. Pingback: guest post // 5 lunches for grown ups (that don’t suck!) | untidy grace

Chime in!

