One Year with a Planner, Still no Plan | Plum Paper Year 2

It’s been a year since I started using my Plum Paper planner. I think I fall more in love with it every day.

I mean, I have a completely reasonable relationship with this inanimate object…cause that would be weird.

When I first introduced you to my planner in November, I’d already been using it for a few months. Since then, I’ve streamlined my system. I spend a little more time prepping each week (which I love doing, because I’m a little nuts like that), but the day-to-day usage requires much less effort (and I don’t have to carry around a pack of highlighters).

?

I focus less on making sure everything is color coded, and more on adding visual interest to a flat page. It’s a little thing, but I tend to think in shapes and colors, so the prettier it is, the more likely I am to use it consistently. My pages are divided into thirds to designate time, but the bottom section has become the place for notes and reminders. I use the top two sections as a record of my day both for planning and reflection. It sounds silly to go back and record where you were or what you had for dinner after it has already happened, but I’ve found it to be really helpful, especially when trying to keep track of correspondence. The dealership told you the part would be available in 2 weeks, but was that last week, or the week before? Now you know.

Important, exciting, or time-consuming tasks are blocked out in washi tape at the beginning of the week (or when they are scheduled). I write daily tasks in my favorite blue pen.


Side note: At first, I was scared to put things in my planner that might change. I mean, what’s the point of getting excited about something that might not even happen? But here’s the thing, dear ones. Life changes. It just does. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t anticipate. For a while, I lost hope in the future. Slowly, but surely, I’m taking it back.


Planner 2I’ve added some new sections in this year’s planner! Besides a dedicated blogging section in the back, I also opted for an extra notes page, a checklist page, and a monthly bill tracker. It’s nice to see all the bills listed together and I can check them off as they are paid, record current credit card balances, and decide whether I need to adjust my due dates. Since each week and each day have built in checklists, I can make a master monthly list on the checklist pages and then assign tasks to specific weeks and days. This way I don’t lose track of the things I need to do, but I also don’t get overwhelmed with a huge list staring at me all the time.

As I’ve said before, and will continue to say until into perpetuity, planners are deeply personal. Find what works for you, don’t let anyone tell you what your system should be, and don’t be afraid to adjust as you go.

Here’s to the organized life; may we all find it someday…

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

Chime in!

