day 13 | Raindrops on Roses…

I’m supposed to be studying for finals today. So here I am.

A friend of mine is going through an incredibly hard time right now. He’s facing a new and uncertain future, after the future he thought he was building didn’t work out. Yesterday, we were texting and he said something that stopped me in my tracks. He told me that he didn’t know what would make him happy at this point, and asked me what made me happy.

What makes me happy?

I had to resist the urge to deflect and get sarcastic, and really stopped to think about the things in my life that bring me happiness. Oh sure, my inner joy is derived from the recognition of God’s grace and my eternal birthright, but what are the little things that make me happy?

So I made a list. You probably saw that coming.

Happy1. stuart…duh
2. blogging
3. soy vanilla lattes
4. cuddling
5. my garden
6. pinterest
7. meteor showers
8. singing
9. having time to sit down for breakfast
10. sales at kate spade
11. tacos
12. fresh flowers
13. abstract nouns
14. 17th century dutch still life
15. my planner
16. books
17. spreadsheets
18. good hair days
19. glass jars
20. strawberry ice cream
21. peonies
22. squishy babies
23. penguins
24. high-fives
25. trips to ikea
26. good puns
27. holding hands

Sometimes all it takes to find the beauty in the world around you is looking for it. What makes you happy?

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

2 thoughts on “day 13 | Raindrops on Roses…

  1. Pingback: day 25 – Monday Musings: of family ties, customer service, and a moment of remembrance… | The Adventures of EveryGirl

Chime in!

