day 11 – Monday Musings: of eusocial formicidae invasions…

1) It is a truth universally acknowledged that a girl in possession of a day off is in want of a disaster.

Fridays are the day that I get to catch up on things. No students, no jobs, no classes, just me and a huge cup of coffee and my never ending list. It is on these kinds of days that I like to really cook. Not just prepare a meal, but make something that’s good for the soul as well as for the tummy. This past Friday, the menu included Mozzarella Stuffed Meatballs in a homemade marinara. Yum. While not a difficult recipe, per se, this isn’t something you start and stop. Once you’ve committed, you kind of need to see it through.

I’m wrists deep in seasoned raw ground beef when I need to throw something away. No biggie. I walk over to my kitchen trash can which is when I notice that we’ve been invaded. By ants.

Ants!

ants

In an ordered line stemming from the back door down into the trash, they go. Marching one by one, or so I’ve been told. Abandoning my meatballs, for the moment, I wash the meaty goodness off my hands and all but hurl the trashcan onto the back porch, where, I reason, they are at least not in the house. Then, I take a broom and sweep the visible ants out the door. I feel I have temporarily ameliorated the situation until I notice that they are unperturbed by me and continue their march.

A quiet voice in the back of my brain reminds me that I once read on the internet somewhere that you can use cornmeal to get rid of ants, and I’m in full on panic mode. I know that an invasion can quickly turn into an infestation and I’m Not Having It. So down the cornmeal goes on the floor. I hope that I may at least contain the problem.

By that evening, there are only a few visible ants and by the next morning, they are GONE. They are still outside climbing all over the trashcan, but that’s a problem for a different day.

The meatballs, by the way, were delicious – and ant free.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

Chime in!

