day 5: Cooking for 1 (or 2)

When I was in college, I used to invite my friends over for Spaghetti Night. For a bunch of college kids, home cooked meals are the Holy Grail. I’d make a huge pot of my famous sauce and a couple pounds of noodles and we’d all eat and laugh and have a grand time. The largest group I ever had was 19 people and it was awesome.

While I love to cook for a huge crowd, these days it’s more likely that I’m just making food for one or two people. Sure, I could still make a huge pot of spaghetti and eat leftovers for days (and I often do) but even that gets old.

Enter: Eggs Monterey. This (absurdly) easy dish is a ready in a snap, basically fool-proof, and easily serves 1, or double it to serve 2. I make this pretty regularly. The slightly spicy salsa paired with decadent egg makes a surprising, but delicious combo.

20150503_202300

Preheat oven to 400°F. Spray a shallow 1 cup baking dish with non-stick spray (I use Pyrex and Pam). Fill with 1/2 c Salsa and bake for 15 minutes until hot. With a spoon, make 2 wells in the hot salsa and gently crack an egg into each well. Bake for 5 minutes, top with shredded cheese, and bake an additional 5 minutes.

The whites are cooked through, but the yolks are still a bit runny and deliciously rich. Serve with crusty bread or just on their own. Yum!

A word of caution: This recipe easily doubles, just use a larger container. However, if you attempt more than two servings (4 eggs) at a time, use separate vessels, as the heat distribution gets a bit wonky.

Bon Appetit!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

Chime in!

