Why I blog…

So Moriah over at Untidy Grace and I are becoming fast friends. We’ve known each other for a couple years, but have only gotten to know each other in the last couple of weeks. She issued a challenge. She wanted to know why I blog.

Some days, I’m not so sure. I worry that I’m not funny enough. I wonder if everyone is going to stop reading if I keep talking about my dad. I wonder if anyone is even out there.

I keep going, however, despite all of that. Why?

write1. I blog to write.
It’s simple and obvious. I get to write often and on a variety of topics. I write humor. I write advice. I tell stories. I get to paint pictures with my words, develop color and shape with the tapping of keys.

2. I blog to think.
What you read is not what I write. I write about twice as much and then edit. Then I edit, and edit some more. When I’ve removed everything I can without changing the meaning of the post, it’s ready. The extra words are important, too; often, posting is the way I process emotion, or organize my thoughts. I don’t always see the connections between events until I write about them.

home3. I blog to encourage.
I’m a mess. This is just the way it is. I’ll never have perfectly white teeth or nails without dirt under them. My eyes are too big and my mouth is too small (the irony is not lost on me). I’m 10 feet tall with enormous feet, and my joints ache like an octogenarian. I feel awkward and ogre-like. I’m always sure I’m wearing the wrong thing and I’m not good at keeping a budget. I say hurtful things accidentally and I’ll never remember to water my plants. I have an anxiety disorder, I’m afraid of being alone forever, and I trip over like, everything.

I have to believe that I’m not the only one. So I share my struggles, even when it hurts to do so. I write about my pain and my awkwardness and my selfishness. I do it so that maybe, someone else who feels like they are the only one who ever feels like an outsider, like they don’t quite fit in anywhere, can see that they aren’t alone. I’m here, I’m weird, and I’m not going anywhere.

4. I blog to chronicle.
I always think that I’ll remember everything forever. This is among the most humorous of the lies I tell myself.

5. I blog to make people like me.
…but I’m working on that.

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54493-148-DF2EE156E182748CB33E09C0A0EB0033

2 thoughts on “Why I blog…

  1. Pingback: #whyiblog / these girls took the challenge! | untidy grace

  2. Simone, I just want you to know that I read and smile at all your blogs. You’ve been one of my favorite people since I made your acquaintance in Kindergarten. You are smart, honest and do it all with humor! “Mrs. Walls” 🙂

    Like

Chime in!

