Hometown Glory

I live in a really big small town. Southern Maryland, comprised of Charles, St. Mary’s, and Calvert Counties, is one of the oldest populated areas in the United States. The Calvert family landed at St. Clement’s Island in 1634 and many of their descendants are still here.

The proximity of an abundance of military bases and government functions adds a revolving door of transplants to the homegrown locals and the result is cool combination of old school and new blood. There are drawbacks, sure, but there are also incredible advantages. Among them, local business are truly local and have their roots in the history of the community. I’ve teamed up with digital marketing experts Good Monster to highlight some of my favorite local businesses. Good Monster has a passion for helping small business owners succeed with digital marketing services.

No Thyme to Cook – Southern Maryland’s Home for Cooking Classes

Gwyn

photo by Danny Douglas Photography

Chef Gwyn Novak is the owner/operator of this phenomenal cooking class business, which began in 1998. A native of Southern Maryland, Gwyn is not only one of the most talented and creative chefs I’ve ever worked with, she is also the sweetest, most bubbly woman you’ve ever encountered. Cooking classes are cooking classes, right? Indeed not. As a hometown girl, Gwyn takes the time to get to know her students, which makes for a much more enjoyable experience. She makes even the most complicated dishes seem effortless and accessible.

Plus! Gwyn is working on her next venture, a seafood restaurant in Solomon’s Island, MD. The new project, Steamers Seafood Shack, will hopefully be up and running later this summer. I, for one, can’t wait!

Birds of a Feather Photography

I know 3 things about Maggie Mudd:

My favorite picture ever. David and me at his wedding in June.

My favorite picture ever. David and me at his wedding in June.

1. She always cries at a father/daughter dance
2. She and her mom are a trip
3. She almost always loses her phone at weddings.

I first met Maggie when she shot the wedding of my Maggie & David. (Coincidentally, her husband is also named David) Along with her mom, Betty, the duo made the entire wedding photography experience easy and fun. Betty even took the photo that will go down in history as being my favorite photo of David and me of all time. Aren’t we adorable?

The photos they take are gorgeous, and working with them is a dream. Someday, they’ll be called in to shoot my own wedding.

Or, you know, portraits of my cats.

What are your favorite local businesses? What makes them so special?

Chime in!

