Step 1: Admit you have a problem.

May I just share something with you, without the inevitable scrutiny and eye-rolling? Probably not. I’m going for it anyway. I, Simone, being of sound mind and relatively sound body admit that I did knowingly and with intent spend in excess of 2 hours rearranging the pins on my Pinterest boards. *Shame* But it felt so good. As of press time, I have 1,941 pins on 42 boards. If you’re doing math, that is an average of 46.21 pins per board, a manageable number. Before I reorganized, I had hundreds of pins on fewer boards with generic titles and I couldn’t find anything!!!!!! How did I do it? I’ll tell you: subheadings. Pins HeadboardTake, for example, my board of future home decorating. Instead of 1 board with a whopping 216 pins, I divided it into:

Home, Sweet Home – Floor plans
Indoors, Beautifully – Whole room decorating concepts
Decor and more – Individual decorative elements
Organization and DIY – Pretty self-explanatory
Holidays – Decorating ideas throughout the year

Now my boards are indexed and arranged for maximum efficiency in retrieval. Yeah, I know I have a problem. Here’s one more example. I had a board of references and ideas for my classroom and tutoring students. Now I have all 371 pins sorted by subject matter

Classroom Organization
Ideas and Tips
Earth/Space
Life Science/Biology
Chemistry
Higher Order Thinking
Students with Special Needs
Professional Development
Super Tutor
Vacation Bible School

It sounds crazy, I know, but there is a lesson to be learned here. What in your life is so jumbled and messy that you can’t see your way through? Maybe it’s a relationship issue that needs to be resolved or a closet packed so full you can’t find anything. The task may seem daunting, but the payoff is a sense of peace and accomplishment. Start small, start cleaning out the clutter in your life.

One thought on “Step 1: Admit you have a problem.

Chime in!

