#personalresponsibility

Here it is friends: the end of another year. I find that in the post-Christmas lull, I get a bit desperate for the calendar to flip over to a new page.  It’s arbitrary, really, but something about that new digit in my date book makes everything seem possible. I’ve mentioned before that I don’t really subscribe to the concept of New Year’s Resolutions, instead choosing my birthday (in late May) as the starting point for self improvement, but I very much like having a theme.

Enter this quote from Dr. Seuss that reminds us to take charge of our lives. Because let’s face it, we live in troubled times. Moral decay, political corruption, civil unrest; we fight our neighbors, our natures, and ourselves.  Why? I’d like to suggest that we’ve lost the ability (or willingness, more likely) to take responsibility for our actions.

So here it is, my charge to you for 2015: Take responsibility for yourself. It’s as simple and as complicated as that. #personalresponsibility

You have exactly the same 24 hours in your day that everyone else does.  You are a product of the choices you’ve made and the path you have traveled. Stop blaming your circumstances, your boss, the government, the weather, the church, the economy, the media, or whatever scapegoat you’ve concocted. Just stop it. You are responsible for you.

Sometimes things just happen. Bad things, things that threaten to derail you. In those circumstances, you get to decide how you will go forward. The only person who gets to decide is you.

Take responsibility for your past, try harder in the future, and have faith that God is working out His plan in your life, if you’ll just let Him.

I’ll leave you with the worlds of Jason Mraz (click to listen to this gorgeous song!)

“The third thing that I do now when my world caves in,
is I pause, I take a breath, and bow and I let that chapter end.
I design my future bright not by where my life has been.
And I try, try, try, try, try again.

Happy 2015!

Chime in!

