Monday Musings: Thanksgiving Week Edition – of shopping, menus, and kitchen disorientation.

How is possibly Thanksgiving week already?!  I swear it was just June and I was stressing about David and Maggie’s wedding and then it was September and my world was falling apart and not the Holiday Season is upon us!  I have one exam and one homework that I have to get through before I can unwind for the long weekend, but a quick update before I bury my head in the books for the rest of the day —

1) I have been known, in years past, to get up at the crack of 3 am to line up in the freezing cold to go Black Friday shopping.  These days, I look at shopping on Black Friday the same way I do hunting.  I have no moral objections, but I won’t be participating for the following reasons:

  1. It’s early.
  2. It’s cold.
  3. I don’t wanna.

I do however, take exception with stores who are opening up on Thanksgiving Day to jump start the consumerism that has become Christmas.  Besides the irony of pushing and shoving your way through a store to acquire more stuff on a holiday dedicated to being thankful for what you have; if you are in a store shopping, it means someone else must be working and not spending time with their family.  So, in honor of that auspicious idiocy, I’ve decided to take a pledge, and I encourage you to do the same. Don’t shop on Thanksgiving and let stores know that it isn’t okay.

2) I’ll be cooking the smallest Thanksgiving dinnerThanksgiving 2014 I’ve ever experienced, this year.  Just 3 (possibly 4) people.  I’m a little sad; I love cooking a huge dinner for a ton of people, but I think it will be nice, and it gives me an opportunity to change things up and make food that is a little less traditional.  Here’s our menu:

3) The other challenge is that I won’t be cooking from my home kitchen, but rather from my grandmother’s.  It’s not a huge deal, and it’s not the first time, but I’m feeling a little nervous about the disorientation associated with cooking in someone else’s kitchen.  It’s probably just my own special kind of ridiculousness, but it gives me pause.  I’m sure everything will be just fine.

From my family to yours, Happy Thanksgiving Week!!

Chime in!

