Monday Musings: Marine Corps Edition – of birthdays and an etiquette snafu…

Happy actual Monday!  Here’s to getting back on track.

1) Today is the 239th birthday of the United States Marine Corps.  I have more friends and friends of friends than I can count who have served and continue to serve this country bravely, both in the Marines, and other branches of service.  If you follow along with my blog (or my life) you know that my big brother is a Marine.  I’m exceedingly proud of his service; I always have been.

But I don’t want to talk about him.

MarinesThis year, I want to take a minute to thank and appreciate the unsung heroes of the Marine Corps – Marine spouses.  Those men and women who support their Marines with love and loyalty, giving them the opportunity and peace of mind they need to protect and defend.  My very favorite, and the newest addition to this illustrious order, is my sister-in-law, Maggie.  Through deployments and cross-country moves and field exercises and more encounters with drunken Marines than anyone should have to deal with in a lifetime, she has proven to be the kind of strong, kind, loving, supportive, independent woman who can look down the barrel at the life she knows will sometimes be filled with worry and pain, and love him through it.  I admire this woman and love her dearly, and I can’t imagine anyone on Earth better equipped to stand shoulder to shoulder with my bro.

2) On an adjacent note: have you ever tried to send a thank you note to the military.  Ugh.

spathiphyllumcAfter my dad’s death, my brother’s battalion sent a lovely peace lily to my family.  I, the ever dutiful Jackie O in training, wrote a thank you note on behalf of my family and sent it off.  About a week later, the note came back, marked undeliverable.

Grrrrr.

I appealed to David for a more accurate address, which he kindly provided, and off the note goes again.  A week passes, and once again I find the undeliverable note in my mailbox.

I’m starting to take this personally.

New plan: I’m mailing the note to David and Maggie, and I’m going to have him hand deliver the stupid thing.  I’m coming for you Marines!  You will feel my gratitude!

Semper Fi!

Chime in!

