Monday Musings, but you know, on Tuesday: of new do’s and dishonor…

I hope you’ll forgive me, yesterday was a long day and time got away from me.

1) I did it!  I got my hair cut and embraced the chunky bangs for fall.  And can I tell you? I FREAKING LOVE THEM!  Hair cutMy sweet friend Lindsey did my hair and that girl is a genius.  I had a couple photos and we talked about it and then snip snip snip, magic.  If you live in the Southern Maryland area (or you don’t mind the commute) you can connect with Lindsey here. She is basically the sweetest person you’ve ever met and I could not be more psyched about my hair.

I’m sitting in my kitchen, staring out the window at the changing fall leaves.  Every year they do this; seasons change, the world is reborn, life goes on.   More than that, though, this is a new season in my life, one that is terrifying and exciting and altogether unexplored.  I’m not sure what’s going to happen next, or the girl I’ll become, but I know this: she’ll have fantastic hair.

2) My dad was fairly obsessed with Wawa coffee.  Not just my dad, my family, and almost everyone I know.  If you aren’t local, you might not know what a Wawa is, and I’m super sorry about that.  I’d tell you it’s a convenience store, but that would only be a fraction of the story.  That’s like saying diamonds are just rocks or chocolate is just a food. It’s so much more than that.

Anyway, my dad used to double cup his coffee, for he lived in fear of the coffee collar.  As a habit, I started double cupping my coffee.  I do not fear the coffee collar, but you get used to things, you know?  Yesterday, I was getting coffee and I stopped for a minute and had a thought: I do not live in fear of the coffee collar, why am I double cupping my coffee? That just seems wasteful (though I do put the cups in the recycling, so a little of my guilt is assuaged).  Single cup and coffee collar for me!

20141014_085010I got to my next stop, tutoring a sweet 10th grader and I noticed that the bottom of my coffee cup was damp.  C’est quoi?!?!

That’s right, the unthinkable had happened.  My coffee cup was not structurally sound enough to hold my pumpkin spice with french vanilla creamer and two Splenda!!!!!!!

Dishonor! Dishonor on you! Dishonor on your cow! Dishonor on your whole family!

Okay, maybe it’s not the big of a deal, but I’m going back to double cupping.

Happy Tuesday!

Chime in!

