Monday Musings – of haircuts, duvets, and glass hearts…

Here’s what has me going this week.

1) I’m getting my hair cut next week.  Not cut off, just shaped.  I’ve been thinking about it since I gotLong Hair Collage my last haircut and was thoroughly displeased.  Honestly, I have the worst luck with stylists.  I usually like them for a while, but then something happens and they give me a mullet and now I can’t speak to them anymore.  No good.

Now to choose a style.  I trust the stylist I’m going to to give me a beautiful cut, but I’d like to at least have an idea of what I want before I plop down in her chair and say, “Make me pretty.”  Winter is coming and the temptation to sport a thick fringe in the colder months is almost overpowering.  I’ve never regretted having bangs, but I also know that growing them out is a hassle.  Ugh.  First world problems.

Photo credits:
Lucy Hale | Sassy Bangs | Red Hair, Don’t Care | Car Selfie

emmie-ruta-duvet-cover-and-pillowcases__0287079_PE308888_S42) Duvets are pretty much the greatest thing to ever happen in the world of bed linens.  I realize that this is a fairly small world, but whatever.  The beauty of a duvet cover is that, for a fraction of the cost of buying a new bedspread, you can completely change the look of a room.  Sweet.  I’ve been rocking out a chocolate brown cover all summer, but I feel like a need something fresh for fall.  I want to keep the same palette going, so I’m looking at this number from IKEA. It’s fairly neutral, but a couple of accent pillows and I think we’re really on to something here.

3) I’ve been thinking about the human heart.  Not the physical 4-chamber contraption just to the left in my chest, but the metaphorical, emotional heart, the one that gets bruised and broken and finds love and feels joy and happiness.  I used to think that hearts were fragile; beautiful glass structures that had to be handled with care lest they shatter at the slightest bump.  I don’t know about all hearts, but I’m fairly sure mine is made of leather, or pool noodles, or something.  I’ve been heartbroken, I’ve been hurt, I’ve felt pain so visceral I thought it would undo me.  Each and every time, though, the words of Robert Frost came back to me.

It goes on

Maybe not so fragile after all…

Happy Monday!

Chime in!

