The Misguided Adventures of Super Christian!

I recently quit my full time job for a variety of reasons I really don’t want to explain to you right now.  Can we just agree that I had good reasons and move on?  Thanks, I really appreciate it.

One of the new and interesting features of my 9-5less existence is that I’m home, with no discernible schedule, on Mondays.  I’ll tell you; I rather dig it.  I keep saying that I need to get back to my devotions and quiet time, but with a hectic schedule, I’m quick to make excuses why I can’t get it done.  Today, not so much.

I was reading about John the Baptist this morning and the devotion was making the point that John knew exactly who he was and who he wasn’t.  In fact, when questioned about it, he was very clear:

[20] He confessed, and did not deny, but confessed, “I am not the Christ.” [21] And they asked him, “What then? Are you Elijah?” He said, “I am not.” “Are you the Prophet?” And he answered, “No.” [22] So they said to him, “Who are you? We need to give an answer to those who sent us. What do you say about yourself?” [23] He said, “I am the voice of one crying out in the wilderness, ‘Make straight the way of the Lord,’ as the prophet Isaiah said.” (John 1:19-23 ESV)

John knew that his purpose in life was to announce the coming of Christ, not to be the Christ.  Whoa.

I think sometimes people turn Christians into their own personal Christs.  Some people chose to be Super Christiandevoted to a particular Christian, as if that person were a religion of their own.  The danger comes when the “Super-Christian” makes a mistake, the disappointment can lead many away from Christ.  Others choose to carefully watch a Christian, quick to point out every flaw as a reflection of God.  They forget that Christians aren’t perfect, just forgiven, just trying.

I do it to myself, too.  I work so hard to be the kind of person that people admire and respect and love that I forget that my goal isn’t to be the object of worship, but to stand as a trophy of grace for the one who is.

I am not called to be God.  I am called to be Christ-like, to live and love like Jesus and help others do the same, but ultimately, my goal must be to point others to Him.

Happy Monday!

Chime in!

