Adventures in Proverbs: every day…

Proverbs Challenge

So 4 days into the Proverbs Challenge I had my world ROCKED.

It started off simple enough.  Proverbs 2 was  mostly about attaining wisdom.  It is important to do and folly leads to death and  “discretion will watch over you, understanding will guard you”, while sin will, like the frog in the pot , kill you so slowly that by the time you realize you are in hot water it’s too late to do anything about it.  You know, normal stuff.

In chapter 3, though, I felt the tone of the narrative change.  Now a new caution. once you have the wisdom, don’t lose it.  Like weight loss or breaking an addiction, it’s easier to give in to your sinful nature and your human desires than to go at it God’s way.  Sin is how you are hardwired, and you have to work hard to fight that.  Not just once, but every day.

Every. Single. Day.

So then Sunday happens, and I’m back in church learning about the Wise Life, which takes humility and observation and, get this, effort.  Lots of effort.

But here’s the thing, friends, effort is a choice.  Like money, or time, or attitude, my effort is a personal decision that reflects my priorities.  The only way I’m going to become this amazing, wise woman that I desire to be is by making a choice, every single day, to be her.  I have to make decisions that will change my trajectory to get me where I want to go.

Every. Single. Day.

My world was already pretty shaken when I headed off to spend the afternoon with my Mary Kay sisters for some amazing training from our illustrious NSD.  She spent most of the training time hovering around the idea that success, in work, in relationships, in life, is a series of choices that put you on the path to where you want to go.  “Do something,” she insisted, “every day to build your business.”

Every. Single. Day.

What will you do, today, to get you one step closer to where you want to be?

Chime in!

