Adventures in Proverbs: and so it begins…

Proverbs Challenge

Day 1 – Proverbs Chapter 1

“If it seems too good to be true, it probably is.”

Solomon begins the book by telling his sons that they must actively pursue knowledge and go after wisdom with humility and reverence.  Sin, he counters, will come after you. It is enticing and fun and sexy, but oh, so deadly.  He goes on to warn them to get out of the way of people who are headed for their own destruction, lest they be swept away in the wake of foolish decisions.

Wisdom isn’t hiding, though.  She is standing in the street calling out, all but begging to be noticed, heeded, followed.  She begs for love and attention and tries to warn everyone of the destruction that awaits those who ignore her.  She isn’t going to track you down and make you listen, but she’ll keep shouting for you until it’s too late.

So where does this leave me in my quest to be a woman of wisdom?  Should I stand in the street and beg everyone to notice me?  I think probably not.

Wisdom doesn’t just happen.  I am sinful; full of rebellion and pride.  I have a habit of speaking without thinking and being overly critical and calling it bluntness.  I hide my own heart from others, believing that if they really saw me, they would be repelled by the person I am.  None of that changes until I humble myself and actively seek wisdom.

If I can, though, there is hope:

“Whoever listens to me will dwell secure and be at ease, without dread of disaster.” Proverbs 1:33

What are your thoughts about Proverbs 1?

Chime in!

