The Problem with Snow days…

0303141833

Don’t get me wrong, I love a snow day as much as the next person, maybe more.  But come on already, enough is enough.

The problem really comes down to what I call the Snow Day Paradox.  On the one hand, I have a whole day to get things done that I normally wouldn’t have time for.  On the other hand, all I really want to do is bake.  That’s right, friends, when the snow outside is howlin’, I have visions of sugarplums, or cupcakes, or fruit pie dancing through my head.

The other issue is that I’m trying to be healthier and the dessert binge that follows a day of baking is no dieters dream.  Plus then there are dishes.  My kingdom for a husband who does dishes!!

*Ahem*

Instead of giving in to the misery that can accompany the SDP, I took to the interwebs for a guilt-free, or at least guilt-light, recipe.  That’s when the trouble started.  While there are TONS of recipes out there for healthy desserts, most of them begin with “1 box of (insert flavor here) cake mix”.  I’m not opposed to the proliferation of boxed cake mixes, I’m really not.  I think that boxed mixes help out people who don’t have time or expertise enough to make a cake from scratch (though it honestly doesn’t take a lot of either) or for making certain kinds of flavored cakes (alcohol based cakes do better with a mix, because they stay more stable), but when I want to bake, I want to BAKE.  A box just won’t cut it.

Enter this amazing Red Velvet Cupcake recipe from Gina at SkinnyTaste.com.  The recipe is simple, but not exactly easy, and you should be sure that you’ve read through all the instructions ahead of time (Hint: you should end up with 3 bowls for the batter).

All in all, it was a smashing success of baking and lounging and cuddling with Stuart and not much productive was done.

Stay safe and warm!

5 thoughts on “The Problem with Snow days…

Chime in!

