Things I’m tired of hearing….

It’s been almost a year since I posted.  Sorry about that.  *hangs head in shame*

I’m just going to press on as if it’s not weird.  Mmkay, pumpkins?

According to the Oxford Dictionary, there are about 171,000 words in the English language.  This doesn’t include derivatives.  Just words.  There’s some debate on how many words the average human speaks in a day, but it ranges from 4,000 to 20,000, so I’m going to say 12.000 just to be safe.  12,000 words a day.  That means statistically, you could say 12,000 different words every day for more than two weeks.  No repeats.

So tell me, why do I always hear the same things?  In such a vast and rich language, why do we say the same thing all the time?

Here are some things I’m a little tired of hearing:

#YOLO

Okay, so technically, it’s not even a word, just an acronym for “You Only Live Once” (in case you’ve been living under a rock).  You only live once?  If you discount the theologically differences between us in which I stress to you that there was a time when you were not, but there never again will be a time when you are not, this still sounds like a ridiculous reason to do foolish things.  This isn’t the same as “Live life to the fullest!” or even “Make every day count!”.  No.  This is an attempt to justify acting like an idiot in the name of short timers attitude.  It’s senioritis on steroids.  As Jack Black put it, “I’m fairly certain that YOLO is just Carpe Diem for stupid people.”

I shouldn’t have to…

I shouldn’t have to ask.  I shouldn’t have to cook dinner.  I shouldn’t have to take the kids to ballet.  I shouldn’t have to remind you.  I shouldn’t have to stand in line.  I shouldn’t have to wait 5-7 business days for delivery.  I shouldn’t have to save up for it. On and on and on it goes.  Every time I hear this you want to know what my first thought is?

Why?

Why shouldn’t you have to?  We’re all citizens of this planet and that means dealing with the inconveniences that come with life.  You want to know when I’ll accept this phrase?  Here you go…

I shouldn’t have to wonder where my next meal is coming from.
I shouldn’t have to be an orphan of genocide.
I shouldn’t have to be a child soldier.
I shouldn’t have to be afraid to practice my religion.
I shouldn’t have to watch my parents lose the battle with addiction.
I shouldn’t have to eat mushrooms.

Okay, that last one is self-serving, but it’s a issue very close to my heart.

When you have kids, you’ll understand.

Grrrrrrrrr.

Ever wanted to see a child-less person’s head explode?  Try this one on them and then stand back.  If becoming a parent gave you super powers, then wouldn’t all parents be great parents?  Wouldn’t all children be raised in perfect homes where no one ever got out of control and nothing bad ever happened and everyone lived happily ever after?  And yet, since that’s not really the case, could we also maybe concede that we single and/or childless people aren’t the baby-eating villains we’ve been made out to be?

Because here’s the truth: I can’t.  Sorry to burst your bubble, but through no fault of my own, it’s unlikely that I’ll ever conceive children.  Does that make me a bad person?  Am I being punished by God for some heinous things that I’ve done?  Or maybe, just maybe, can I still be an effective teacher, leader, babysitter, aunt to children even if I don’t actually grow one?

*end rant*

Chime in!

