March — In like a lion, out like a snowman

Today is March 25.  It’s the second day of holy week, it’s 6 days before Easter, it’s the second week of spring —

And it’s snowing.

Because sure, why not?

I really don’t mind the snow.  In general I like it and since my car has four-wheel drive (thanks Subaru!) it’s not so bad, but seriously? March?

Apparently so.

In honor of this glorious occasion, I’d like to take the opportunity to speak about something really important: Snow day movies.  Now, let me be clear about this, not films about snow (necessarily!) but film that are perfect ways to spend a snow day (or, incidentally, a sick day).  Don’t judge me or send me hate mail if you don’t like my picks, but feel free to leave your favorites in the comments!

Number 5 – The Last Action Hero

Arnold Schwarzenegger plays an actor, playing an action hero.  A kid crosses over from the real world to movie world.  Things get real.  It’s a perfectly silly box-office flop about the difference between fantasy and reality.

Number 4 – The Breakfast Club

I love John Hughes (RIP) and I’m not afraid to admit it.

Number 3 – The Sound of Music

This is one of my favorite movies, like, ever, but I usually have to wait until a snow day to not feel guilty about watching it because the film is quite…lengthy.  There’s even an intermission.  Singing children, Nazis, and the very attractive young Christopher Plummer make this a gem.

Number 2 – Ferris Beuller’s Day Off

Life moves pretty fast.  If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you might miss it.  Plus! Gratuitous musical number.  (Did you know that Matthew Broderick and Jennifer Grey dated for a while after this film?  Truth)

Number 1 – The Princess Bride

Pirates, sword fights, and mostly dead guys.  There’s nothing better than this film, especially if you’re home all day.  Nothing, except maybe a MLT sandwich – mutton, lettuce, and tomato – where the mutton is sliced really thin…

So that’s my list.  Leave comments with your favorite stay home movie!

Happy Monday!

Chime in!

