Another One Bites the Dust…

I’m starting to think my house is bugged.

Here’s what I mean — My television shows keep getting cancelled.  It’s almost as if the Powers-that-be in TV land know what I like and are hell-bent on taking it away from me.  The latest casualty in the great television massacre that is my life? TBS’s Wedding Band.

wedding-band-tv-show

The show, set in Seattle, is part buddy comedy, part musical, part Melora Hardin (Jan from The Office) making outrageous and hilarious soccer metaphors.  It follows a wedding band, aptly named “Mother of the Bride” through life and various gigs, where they don’t hesitate to go the extra mile for their clients.  The show is funny, irreverent, with a heart of gold.  Or, I guess I should say, it was.

All the pieces were there: Brian Austin Green as the bad boy sweetheart, Peter Cambor as the married father of two who is the voice of reason, but always ends up in trouble with his police officer wife, and Jenny Wade as the girl next door.  It had laughs. It had heart.

TBS: Y U LET GOOD SHOWS DIE?!?!?

*Cough* Sorry.  I lost it a little there.

My point is this, why do networks pull shows like this before giving them a fighting chance?  Maybe Wedding Band struggled to hold it’s Saturday night time slot, but honestly, who wouldn’t?  Move it to a Thursday and let it try, you know?  This isn’t the first time (nor the last, I dare say) that this has happened to me.  Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, Common Law, Pushing Daisies, all great shows that were cancelled long before their time.

But Real Housewives of Toledo? Bring it on!!! Ugh.

Now I’ll never know if Tommy and Rachel could make it work.

Which of your favorite shows we cancelled prematurely?  Leave a comment below!

Happy Tuesday!

Chime in!

