Challenge Accepted.

It’s 10:16 on a Sunday night as I begin writing this post.  I’m not at home, snug in my bed, winding down from an awesome weekend while gearing up for the week.  I’m not just getting back into town from a weekend get away with my sweetie where we made like snow bunnies and sequestered ourselves away for a few days.  I”m not even vegging out in front of the television, the sounds of Sunday night drama filtering through my consciousness as I type.

I’m at work.

Worse than that, I’ve been here since eight o’clock this morning.

That’s right folks, I’ve been at work for 14 hours.  On a Sunday.

I should clarify.  I have a 9 to 5 (strictly speaking an 8 to 4:30) job that does not require me to work weekends. So this is the kind of once-in-a-lifetime anomaly that is only the result of a series of collective acts of resounding stupidity by people over whom I have exactly zero control.

Really, just this one guy, but that’s a story for another day.

The point is, I am at the point in my day, and probably my life, where I feel I’d be perfectly justified in my righteous indignation  but instead I find myself filled with an overwhelming sense of gratitude.  In fact, the feeling has come on so strong it is almost oppressive, like the overly claustrophobic feeling of a strong perfume in a small elevator.   The gratitude wells up from a deep place, somewhere unknowable, unnameable, and spreads throughout my body, warming as it goes.  I have so many things for which to be grateful that my righteous indignation is forced to take a holiday.  In the season where comfort and joy are about give way to winter doldrums and maxed out credit cards, even having a job about which I can complain is a huge blessing, as are an amazing mom and best friend who brought me food and gave up chunks of their Sunday afternoons to help me get my work done.

I tell you all of that to say this: It’s a time for resolutions.  I keep hearing people say that they resolve to pull back, to take on fewer commitments, to spend time on themselves, to stop spreading themselves too thin, to start saying “no”.  On the radio on my way into the office this morning, a local DJ said that her key word for the new year is “Om”.  Maybe you have a similar plan.  Maybe you want to take back the pieces of yourself, to reflect on your blessings, to be still this year.  I’d like to offer a challenge:

Say “Yes” instead.

You have this one life, and contrary to pop culture clichés life isn’t short, it’s long.  You have to live with the consequences of your actions for a long time, but it’s the things you were too scared to try or too busy spending “me” time to notice that will haunt you all of your days.  So say “Yes!”  Treat each day like the gift it is and open yourself up to the idea that the more you give of yourself, the more of yourself you have to give.  Say yes, go for it, be enthusiastic, smile!  Do things that make you joyful and approach everyday tasks with purposeful joy.

It’s just shy of 2 am as I’m finishing this post.  I’ve been at work for 18 hours and it’s a different day than it was when I got here.  In a mere 22 hours, it’ll be a whole new year.

I, for one, can’t wait.

Chime in!

