No Soup For You!

I hate soup.

This is a mostly true story.

I don’t hate all soups, but I don’t like many of them.  Something about things that are cooked together for that long and they all start to taste the same and…icky.  It makes me shiver a little just thinking about it.

That being said, today I made soup.  AND IT WAS AWESOME.

One soup that I do really enjoy is baked potato soup.  You can find it at most restaurants (though the best I ever had was at O’Charley’s) and it’s always super decadent and rich and you can feel your thighs expanding as you eat it.  So there is that.

I got to thinking, I cut my mashed potatoes with cauliflower to main them healthier, so why wouldn’t the same principle work for potato soup?

Turns out, it does.

This recipe isn’t my own, but was adapted from this one from Gina at skinnytaste.com.  I left out the bacon, and added broccoli to the available condiments, used 2% milk instead of 1% (because it’s what I happened to have) and made a double recipe.  I’m glad I did too, because this soup was definitely a crowd-pleaser.  Even the manliest man in the group couldn’t tell that there was a whole head of cauliflower in the dish and I only used about 4 smallish potatoes for a huge pot of soup!

The best thing about this soup is that you can make it in under an hour.  Seriously.  It’s thick and creamy and rich and healthy, and I’m all over this.  Yum!!!

Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

One thought on “No Soup For You!

  1. Pingback: Soup and more soup « Life's a haiku

Chime in!

