The most wonderful time of the year…

I like Christmas, I really do.  But for me, the most wonderful time of the year is Fall.  Hands down.

With the air getting crisper and the leaves getting crisper it seems only obvious that my food should get crisper too.

…Right?  Whatever.

I love roasting vegetables.  They get deliciously crispy on the outside and stay soft on the inside. They taste and smell exactly like Fall should and I love them.  I love them!!

And they couldn’t be easier.  Cut your veg into bite-sized pieces, toss in salt, pepper and olive oil on a sheet pan and throw in the oven at 400-425 degrees for about a half hour, turning once, until crispy and cooked through.  This works for almost any produce, but I like it best with dense, seasonal root vegetables like potatoes, squash and parsnips (the albino cousin of the carrot).  You can also roast fruit and berries, but not for quite as long.  Easy, killer.

The result?

Delicious Fall-ness! It makes a great side to almost any dish and bring warm heartiness to your table.  Love!

Happy Tuesday!

Chime in!

