Remember, I could kill you if I wanted to….

So I have this boss.

No guys! You’ve got it all wrong.  He’s actually quite lovely, and we get along very well.  He works in a remote location (I mean a different building, he’s not in Timbuktu or anything), so our interaction is mostly through email.  He also has the unfortunate task of disseminating information to me that can be of a somewhat unpleasant nature.

Example:

Hey Simone, ClientXYZ wants twice as many things in half the time for half the price.

However! To temper his quasi-harbinger of death-ness, he adds smiley faces to his correspondence, to lighten my mood. Which, honestly, it kind of does.  It’s hard not to smile when you see this guy: 🙂

Example:

Hey Simone, Turns out your widget are backordered into infinity, so you won’t get them in time to finish this project. Or ever. 🙂

While it might seem at first glance like he’s have a bit of Schadenfreude at my expense, he is honestly just trying to make the bad news more palatable.  Seriously.

Anyway, I tell you all that to tell you this:

I have a HUGE project that absolutely positively has to be done by tomorrow morning.  In order to finish the project, I ABSOLUTELY HAD to order some supplies NO LATER THAN Tuesday and have them overnighted from Georgia ($108.00 in shipping, if anyone is interested).  Yesterday (Wednesday) afternoon, after these supplies were to have come in, I got an email from my boss asking me if they had and how the project was going, in an effort to gauge how realistic our timetable was. So I sent him this response:

Yikes!!!! I completely forgot to order the supplies!!!!!

Just kidding!

It’s going fine, I’m already a quarter of the way done with the project. 🙂

Mean, right? I know.

Here’s the response I got:

NO SMILEY FACES FOR YOU!

I just almost had a heart attack!

Hehe.  Good Times.

Hope your Friday is lovely!

One thought on “Remember, I could kill you if I wanted to….

Chime in!

