I know it doesn’t have lettuce, I’m still calling it a salad…

One of the greatest things about planning meals ahead and trying new recipes is that you get to look forward to leftovers for lunch the next day.  Or, you know, looking forward to one particular lunch all week when you make your menu over the weekend.  Whatevs.  When making the couscous for the Sautéed Tilapia, I made more couscous than I needed for dinner so that I could try a new salad recipe.  Basically, you just add a bunch of stuff to couscous and call it a salad, but it’s a really great lunch to take to work.  It can be eaten at room temperature and it mucho filling because of all the lovely whole grain.  Bonus: this is where you get to use the other half of your toasted walnuts!

Seriously, if I had known how easy and delicious most of these recipes were, I would have tried this a looooooong time ago.

Couscous Salad

To 1 cup cooked couscous add: 1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts, 1/2 cup seedless red grapes (halved), 1/2 cup crumbled feta, 1 Tbs chopped parsley, a drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Toss well to combine and serve with pita, or pita chips.  Simple, delicious, delightful.

Okay, now I want to hear from you!  Tell me about a recipe you’ve tried recently for the first time.  How did it go?  You can leave a comment, or send an email through my contact page.  I’ll highlight the best recipes on a future blog post!

Chime in!

