A clever pun about a fish…

 

Hello, lovelies!!!

It’s Friday, usually a day of joy and excitement, but this one has been more of a day of stress and an ever-increasing list.  Boo. However, I do want to tell you about a wonderful fish dinner I made earlier in the week.  For those just joining us, you can read about my effort to take back dinner here.  I used tilapia, because I like it, and because (as I found out recently) you can buy individual frozen tilapia fillets in the freezer section of your grocery store.  Sweet!  For frozen tilapia, leave it frozen until you’re ready to use it, and then run it under cold water for a few minutes to thaw.  It doesn’t have to thaw completely; little fillets are pretty thin and cook up quickly.

Tilapia With Couscous and Peas

Start with a quick marinade.  In a plastic bag place your tilapia fillets (I used 4) and add: 2 cloves crushed garlic, salt and pepper, a little olive oil, and lemon juice, and let it sit for about 10 minutes.  Then saute it in butter about 3 minutes on each side until the fish is firm and flakes easily.  Easy, no?

For the couscous: I made a whole box of couscous so that I could use it for a salad later in the week.  Follow the box instructions, which usually amounts to putting the couscous in a bowl and adding boiling water.  Then cover and let sit for 5-10 minutes, followed by a fluff with a fork.  Kind of like rice, but different.  To pair with the fish, add a couple of tablespoons fresh chopped parsley and 1/2 cups chopped tomatoes with a little salt and pepper.  It makes a really nice side dish, filling, but not too heavy.

I used frozen peas and just cooked them according to the package directions.  All in all this meal takes about 20 minutes to prepare, and that includes the marinade.  Soooooo easy and delicious!  I always feel like I need to add more seafood into my diet, and this is a fantastic way to do it.

I’m spending the weekend cleaning and organizing my life.  It’s amazing how behind you get on housework when you start working away from home. Anyone have tips on the best way to get all of my crazy under control?

I hope you have a lovely weekend and stay tuned for a post about a couscous salad that will change your life.

 

Chime in!

