[Re]Working It…Day 76

My dearest Bleader,

Can you believe that this is the last first week of our summer series?  Personally, I am super excited to no longer have to do three hours of outfits, however, I’m very sad that dress up time is over. With that being said, I think August has great outfits in store for you. Simone and I worked very hard to give you 31 awesome outfits for this month.  So, without further ado, I give you — Round 1.

Before we begin, let me just say that three months of outfits has really tuckered us out.  There were moments during this photo shoot when I just wanted to sleep and Simone wouldn’t let me.  Some of the things that get said during a middle of the night fashion fest are fairly priceless.  My favorite: “I sighed and then I thought, ‘Man, that sigh sounded super forlorn.'”

Outfit 1: If you haven’t figured out already, I LOVE yellow!  This outfit is super comfortable and easy and can be taken from brunch to barbecue, with little to no work.  I dressed up this outfit with Princess Kate earrings (let’s be real, you know exactly what I mean) and nude flip-flops.  Nude heels would work well also, to take this outfit to a fancier affair.

Outfit 2: As previously discussed, my favorite piece this month is my maxi dress from Wal-mart.  This season, maxi skirts have made an appearance.  I’m not sure how I feel about them, but what better way to test the waters than to pair a maxi dress with a tee?  Shopping or travel, this dress is roomy and comfortable.

Outfit 3:  This is simple and accessible.  Casual Friday appropriate, this slides right into dinner with friends. Make sure that when you pair multiple neutrals, make sure you include a splash or two of color, to take your outfit from drab to fab!

(Note* Simone thinks “drab to fab” is ridiculous and made me change “pop of color” to “splash of color” because she hates the word “pop”.  She’s kind of a diva, but what are you going to do?)

Outfit 4:  This is a great outfit using our flowy white dress, and layering the turquoise tee over it. Super comfortable, super cute, super perfect for church, work, or brunch (Change shoes when appropriate, of course.) I chose to add a yellow necklace to this outfit, because ya know, turquoise and yellow, MY FAVORITE!

Outfit 5: Honestly, there isn’t much to say about this outfit.  It basic and simple and the necklace makes it seem polished.  Moccasins are a comfy alternative to sandals. So there you go.

Outfit 6: You know those days when you really don’t want to get dressed?  This is that outfit.  It’s so easy it’s criminal.  Wear it anywhere and wait for, “You always look so cute!!!”

Outfit 7: I am very proud of this outfit (!).  This is true testament that black and brown can be worn together.  The black in the upper portion of the outfit connects it to the pants and pulls it together.  This is a great outfit to wear to work, or even to Church.

Outfit 8: Something, something, something…Rosie the Riveter.  I have to admit, I’m not the biggest fan of this outfit, but it’s cute.  This is actually a dress with a tee on top of it, something we did a lot this summer.

Outfit 9: This is another outfit built on the strong foundation of neutrals, with accessories to spice it up.  Silver chains and a yellow necklace add layers of texture to what could easily become something horribly boring.

Outfit 10: I heart these shorts.  They are a nice change of pace from the run-of-the-mill solid short.  They can be challenging to style.  However, it’s always easier to style an outfit with a second set of eyes giving their opinion (thanks, Simone!). Layering color on color keeps this from looking accidental and the belt acts as a grounding piece.

So this is the beginning of the end.

Sad but exciting, my fashion fast is nearly over.  Can you say woo to the hoo? Yeah.

17 days.  What out stores, I’m getting ready for you. You are on alert.

Until next week!

Chime in!

