Please Excuse the Interruption…

This is the face of someone who hasn’t had power since Friday night.

You may or may not have heard about (or experienced) the derecho (read: really big storm) that swept Chicago, the Ohio valley, and the Mid-Atlantic on Friday night and left hundreds of thousands of people without power during what can only be described as the hottest summer, like, ever.

I’m on hour 63 without power, but I’d like to take this opportunity to express gratitude instead of dismay. And trust me, there is plenty of dismay.

I’m thankful for:

-The woods in which I live, which shade my house and keep it from getting even hotter

-My underground basement which stays cool even when it’s 90 degrees upstairs

-Countless friends who have expressed concern and offered assistance.

-A patient cat, who seems to be taking it all in stride

-An AMAZING electric co-op which has already restored power to 90% of the homes in its service. 90%!

-Freezypops. Truth.

So until power is restored, there probably won’t be any updates from me, but I hope that wherever you are, you’re staying cool and safe.

Happy Monday!

P.S. I’ll be posting the Weekend Warriors as soon as I can!

Chime in!

