Things Fall Apart

You  know when you see art on the internet and you think, “Pshht.  I could do that,” so you gather all the supplies you think you’ll need and you take photos of the whole process so that you can post them on your blog later and people will love you and bake you cookies but then you try to do the project and it’s way harder than you thought and you end up sitting on your dining room floor in tears, surrounded by scraps of papers and what’s left of your hopes and dreams, wondering what in the world possessed you to try to write a blog?

No?

*Cough*

Me neither.

Moving on.

I love the work of Brit artist Veronika (you can see her studio here).  She does a series of paper heart art.  I wanted to try something like that for myself.  I learned a LOT during the process and although I had some difficulty figuring it out, now that I have, I will definitely be trying this again.  Stay tuned for more!

Paper He(Art)

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 – Stretched Canvas

Magazines, Newspapers, Scrapbooking Paper, etc. (I used the October Vogue)

Several Heart Shapes in different sizes (I used a cookie cutter and small wooden hearts)

Needle and Thread

Scissors

Pencil

Ruler or Yardstick

Here’s What You Do:

First, a note about the canvas.  I used an 11″x14″ canvas, because I had one lying around from another project.  Veronika actually uses flat boards or even shadow boxes and from the photos I’ve seen, glues down one half of the hearts.  I wanted the movement of having only the “spine” of the heart attached, so I did it this way.  Adjust accordingly.

Okay, first cut out your hearts.  I went through the pages of the magazine and cut out hearts any place I saw a cool pattern, or solid text (no large words).  Trace a heart shape to keep the hearts all the same size.  Cut out carefully with scissors and fold each of the hearts in half.  I used all small hearts and one large one to create a bit of change in the piece.  Soon, you’ll have a pile of hearts!

Pretty!  Now decide how you want your hearts spaced.  I did this directly on the canvas.  When I figured out the best composition, and carefully moved them all to the side, making a tiny mark on the canvas as I went so that I would know where to place them.

Now, starting at one corner (you can start anywhere, but the corner is easier) use a needle and thread to “sew” your hearts to the canvas.  The easiest way I found is to use one LONG piece of doubled thread, poke a hole at the top of the heart (where it makes a “V” shape), bring the thread from the back to the front of the canvas, place the heart and then go back through the canvas at the bottom point of the heart.

It’s hard to explain, but once you start doing it, it becomes really obvious.  Continue for the rest of your hearts, making sure to keep the lines very straight.

Instead of only using paper hearts, I also painted a couple of my wooden hearts yellow and placed them around.

Here’s the final product!

I may try another one soon using a shadow box.  If I do, I’ll be sure to let you know.  In the meantime, Happy Crafting!

PS.  Be sure to check back soon for my Post Easter Wrap Up.  I’ll be talking about all things spring decorating and cooking!

5 thoughts on “Things Fall Apart

Chime in!

