When the Moon hits your eye like a…wait, what is it?

I love junk food.  I just can’t help myself.  I know that as a self-proclaimed foodie, I really should have a taste for fois gras, stinky cheeses, and sauces made with ingredients that sound made up (what is pomegranate molasses?).  And I try.  I try not to eat things one could find in a kingdom whose ruler knows a bit too much about ground beef.  But damn you Whopper, it’s tasty.

To assuage my foodie guilt, I’ve begun making fancy pizzas.  By “fancy” I really just mean homemade.  So that’s alright.  The first thing I did was procure a number of pizza stones.  Mine are Pampered Chef, and as such, all the recipes I write here will be using either my Round Pizza Stone, or Large Bar Pan, but I’m told that these things can be made on other vessels.  I’d even be willing to bet you could make a killer pizza on a regular sheet pan, but I can’t confirm that….

(Note: If you’d like to procure a Pampered Chef item of your own, my sweet friend Janelle is a consultant.  Her website is here: http://www.pamperedchef.biz/janellecolligan?page=home.  Just saying)

So after seasoning my pan in an effort in futility that I’d like to call “Let’s get bacon grease all over EVERYTHING,”  I was ready to start my pizza.  I made a few recipes before I started inventing my own.  Well, not inventing, more re-imagining.  I had a pizza similar to this at California Pizza Kitchen in 2004, or so. The secret to this (or any) pizza is to pre-bake the crust to make a stronger base for the toppings.  Also, take care to pre-cook any meat items.

BLT PIZZA

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 Tube of Thin Crust Pizza Dough

2 Tb.  Olive Oil (Plus enough veg. oil to lightly oil the pan/stone)

1 tsp Italian Seasoning

2 cloves of Garlic (chopped fine, or grated with microplane)

3/4  Cup (each) Cheddar and Mozzarella Cheese, Shredded

1 Cup of bacon (cooked, cooled, and chopped)

1 Roma Tomato

Parmesan Cheese (optional)

1 Head of Romaine Lettuce (shredded

Spicy mayonnaise

Here’s what you do:

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees Farenheit.

Unroll dough and pressed gently onto Bar Pan or cookie sheet brushed lightly with Veg. Oil.  Combine Olive Oil, Garlic, and Italian Seasoning in a small bowl and mix.  Use pastry brush to brush the surface of the dough lightly with herby oil.

Bake 7-10 minutes until edges of the crust are BARELY golden and the all over crust has firmed up.  Remove from oven and add Cheeses, Bacon, and Tomato.  Grate Parmesan cheese over the top if desired.  Bake 12-15 more minutes until the edges are golden and crispy and the cheese is melted and bubbly.  Remove and let stand 2 minutes.

Top with shredded lettuce and spicy mayo.  Cut and enjoy!

Make 12-16 slices.

4 thoughts on “When the Moon hits your eye like a…wait, what is it?

  1. Pingback: Weekend Warriors, The Kitchen Chaotic « The Adventures of EveryGirl

Chime in!

